Aside

Meatless Mexican

Stop 1 of my meatless journey: El Limon Mexican Taqueria.

El Limon is a Mexican restaurant that has several locations throughout the suburbs of Philadelphia

image-4

El Limon Mexican Taqueria in Conshohocken, PA. Photo by: Geneva Gerwitz

There are so many items on the menu that are meatless and I was tempted to eat everything. They have tacos, loaded nachos, quesadillas, burritos, enchiladas and so much more: all with or without meat. Majority of the items had the option of adding meat to it but, for the most part, you had to request meat. It was nice to walk into to a place and order food without saying, “I would like that with no meat, please.”

Though the decision was hard, I ultimately decided on a vegetable burrito and loaded nachos. It was the best mistake that I have ever made. Why was it the best mistake? Because it was so filling, so delicious that I couldn’t eat it all and was left feeling like a tick ready to pop.

I started my meal with the overstuffed vegetable burrito. It was filled with rice, refried beans, thin strips of carrots, thin, tender strips of zucchini, peas and corn. The burrito was smothered in cheese, lettuce, chopped tomatoes, sour cream and chipotle sauce. I had to use both hands to hold the burrito and that wasn’t enough to keep it together; I also had to use a fork to pick up the parts that fell onto my plate.

image-5

Vegetable Burrito. Photo by: Geneva Gerwitz

The burrito was simply divine; each bite was like taking a bite into heaven. Everything in the burrito was cooked to perfection. The sauce that smothered the burrito was spicy enough to clear your sinuses. All the toppings caused it to be so messy that my hands were drenched but I didn’t care; all I cared about was taking the next bite. It was so large and filling that I was only able to eat half of it.

I was so full after eating the burrito that I had to take a break before I could move onto the loaded nachos.

image-6

Loaded Nachos. Photo by: Geneva Gerwitz

The nachos were smothered with guacamole, rice, sour cream and chopped tomatoes with melted cheese woven through the tortilla chips. The tortilla chips were thicker than the ones you might buy in the grocery store and were crunchier. Each bite was warm, messy and just as filling as the burrito.

 

El Limon is a place that I wish I visited sooner and I have fallen in love with the amazing Mexican food.

Leave a comment